Support System and Day Five

Posted: October 22, 2013 in Uncategorized

I’m sure that one day I will go back and read this and five days will seem so miniscule, but right now, it seems like an eternity.  I don’t mean that in a bad way, but in the way that my secrets, shame, loneliness, and hopelessness seem so far away right now.  It is amazing at how quickly I was able to begin building a support group. 

Through the Booze Free Brigade, I have gained a couple of friends that are invaluable to me.  We text each other, checking on our sanity and struggles throughout the day.  We give each other tips on things that are helping us get through the hard hours.  I opened up a little more to my husband tonight.  I allowed him to ask a few questions.  I played a podcast about addictive personalities on The Bubble Hour for him.  I am beginning to be able to talk about it little by little. 

Find a place for support, no matter where it comes from, and as long as it is a healthy source.  Start online if that’s what makes you comfortable.  Right now I depend heavily on ladies in New York and California that I have never met.  As a matter of fact, if I passed them in the grocery store, I wouldn’t know them.  But they are often what gets me through the day. 

I’m feeling good.  I know that every day will not be perfect just because I am sober, but today was close.

Comments
  1. Lynda Otvos says:

    So proud of you… Stay the course and we’re here for you as needed. I’m in CA and pulling for you every day,

  2. pp says:

    I remember those first days of not drinking being so long…seemed forever when only a week had passed. You hang in there. I have had some slipups…but I’m still trying. Sobriety is much better and clearer than foggy, alcohol-affected mornings.

Leave your thoughts here

